Watford has had a market since the 12th century, and it is an important part of the town that has changed and adapted over the years.
The origins are thought to be the 12th Century, after royal permission was granted to the Abbot of St Albans as Lord of the Manor to hold a market in the town. It was open on Tuesdays for livestock and Saturdays for more general goods.
22 September 1928 marked the last day of the market in the High Street. The market re-opened in Red Lion Square before being incorporated into Charter Place in 1974, where it remained until it moved to its current location in 2015. The current market is housed over two-storeys with an iconic canopy roof and stalls down the High Street.